I Forge Iron

Steel just fell apart on me

So today I wanted to make a drift for a hammer eye, but I don't have steel thick enough, and I really didn't want to upset the stuff I do have cuz it would take forever. I got some new coil spring last night, about 3/4" thick, so I decided to take 2 pieces about 14" long and form them to rectangles, and forge weld them together. One piece was 20" and the other was about 14" long, and when I was welding the end of the shorter piece on where the longer stock continued the bottom (longer) piece just fell off. I didn't burn it off, zero sparks, my first hammer blow made it just plain fall off. 

No problem, I can work with what I've got, so I continued, but then the end started just breaking apart. (See picture) I've never seen anything like this before, so thought I would ask and see if I was doing something wrong or maybe someone here has an idea. I know 100% that piece didn't burn off, (I've plenty of experience with that happening lol) it just plain fell off. It's only on 1 end, but this stuff is just falling apart on me. I got a picture of the weld ground down, it looks like it's fine to me.

I was using borax for flux and it looks like everything else took, it's just the steel at the one end coming apart

IMG_20170121_171124833.jpg

IMG_20170121_171445857.jpg

IMG_20170121_171156813.jpg

IMG_20170121_171425345.jpg