I Forge Iron

Touchmark/Maker's Mark tips/help

Hello all,

As some of you may know, I am a college student. For one of my class projects I have to design and make something using the school's CNC Mill, and I spoke with the teacher and he said that I could make a metal stamp. I wanted to make a touchmark to stamp on my future blades, and I'll be buying some round stock of O1 tool steel to use. My main question is how deep should I cut into the steel for the stamp? The design is a pretty basic 10 toothed gear with a hole in the center, and will measure around 0.25-0.35 inches in diameter (I'm still working on the CAD Model to make it look the best, and to make it doable with the engraving bits we have, so the exact size isn't finalized). I'm also thinking of getting another smaller piece of O1 tool steel and make the same design but smaller by hand, but I probably won't do that for a while. So long post short, how deep should I engrave the touchmark so I can stamp a blade and have it not be removed when I sand/polish it?

Touchmark designs can be of two types, into the metal, or standing proud of the metal. Standing proud is more difficult as you are driving a lot of metal down in order to raise the make. Into the metal is easier because you are not moving a lot of metal, just enough to sink the design into the metal.

Either way, you are moving metal and the design must take this movement into consideration.

The overall mark size should be designed around the project. As with any design, it should be easy to see, and easy to read. The mark on a knife blade would be different from the mark on a 2 inch square upright on a gate. No one said you could have only one stamp, so when you get your design, make several (spares) in a couple of different sizes.