I Forge Iron

Will this make a good hammer?

Rmartin2

• 2 months later...

Rmartin2,

this has nothing to do with your post...sorry. But your picture helped me solve a mystery! So I'm new to forging , very new. I run an Allied trades shop and have a beat up anvil in the shop, it's missing a whole corner of the anvil, it's been painted over a 100 times. Since I got interested in forging I got curious about the manufacturer of my anvil but the only part the manufacturer stamp visible anymore was what I thought to be LOAN  and the arm and hammer. When I saw your avatar it clicked! What I was seeing was LCAN!! So now I know it's a Vulcan anvil. Haha

HardHead, Vulcans are generally considered the bottom rung of the working anvil ladder. They have thinner top plates than other brands, and have suffered from casting flaws over the years. If the edges have not been dressed, you will want to put a radius on them to help prevent chipping. As long as you only work hot steel you should be good. 

A good thing about Vulcans is that they are one of the quiet anvils-it doesn't ring like a cast steel, or wrought iron anvil does. This is due to the cast iron base with a tool steel top construction.

8 hours ago, BIGGUNDOCTOR said:

HardHead, Vulcans are generally considered the bottom rung of the working anvil ladder. They have thinner top plates than other brands, and have suffered from casting flaws over the years. If the edges have not been dressed, you will want to put a radius on them to help prevent chipping. As long as you only work hot steel you should be good. 

A good thing about Vulcans is that they are one of the quiet anvils-it doesn't ring like a cast steel, or wrought iron anvil does. This is due to the cast iron base with a tool steel top construction.

What would be considered the top of the line in old anvils.