I Forge Iron

Big Blu or Robertson

Dom

I want to purchase a nice hammer for myself.

I am a beginner and I fully understand that it is the smith and not the hammer that makes good result and not the other way around.

That said, let's just say I want one for personal enjoyment of a well crafted object.

I'm hesitating between a 2.5 lbs Czech Style Nathan Robertson from Old World Anvils and a 2.4 lbs (or maybe 3.5) Cross Peen from Big Blu Hammer.

Those are the two that I found that ship to Canada for a not so horrible fee.

Do you guys have preference/recommendation/advice regarding any or both brands?

For a beginner, you'd do better to spend your money on a selection of inexpensive secondhand hammers, fuel, steel, etc. My go-to hammer is a reground True Temper engineer's hammer I paid a fiver for at a flea market, and my second primary hammer is a cross peen I got from Sears in the early eighties. A well-made tool is a joy to use, but you need to build up your skill first before you can appreciate it and use it to its full capacity.

My two cents (3¢ Canadian).

• 1 month later...

Do you know the story behind how your hammers came to be made in the USA instead of Israel? Have you tested the balance of your hammers, not the feel as feel is subjective and not objective, Have you done a side by side comparison performance test between your hammers, other similarly shaped cross pein hammers, and the original Hofi hammer?

I would be interested in knowing the story about how they came to be made in America. I remember reading somewhere on here that Mr Hofi stated that Blu had the right to make them in the USA. But that's about it.

8 hours ago, Glenn said: