I Forge Iron

Teaching a total beginner?

Hi chaps, 

I may very well be running a one to one class in about a weeks time. The student is a complete beginner and has never picked up a hammer. 

I've run a good few classes in my time however they have all been for people with some experience.

What would you start them out with? 

As it stands I'm planning:

Basic H&S, do's and don'ts etc etc. 

Go over some basic theory and basic techniques. 

We might start by making a couple of nails if needs be. 

Project 1: Simple hook from square bar with a twist. - This covers: drawing out, twisting, scrolling and half faced blows

Project 2: Basic bottle opener. Covering the above techniques but throws in a one sided taper. 

Project 3: Fire rake. All of the above techniques put into a larger project. 

I'd have thought I can cover those projects in a single day. 

Any other ideas? 

Andy

Sounds like a good program but unless your student is gifted it's a little ambitious. I've had a few students who have never swung a hammer and a full day's session typically saw 2-3 nails made.

You have to be flexible if a youngster really hasn't used a hammer they're going to need time and repetition to develop enough hammer control to move beyond a straight taper. I discovered I should've started the above young men on S hooks because heading the nail was beyond their hand skills on day one.

You or I may be able to cover the list in one session but the student may be swamped just trying to remember what a half face blow is let alone what it's for.

Frosty The Lucky.

I've never been called upon to teach Blacksmithing.

But I feel qualified to comment on the subject of introducing raw beginners to a subject that's totally foreign to them.

To wit; ... 15 years experience teaching handgun safety and technique, ... in a fairly formal setting, ... to the wives and girlfriends of fellow Gun Club members.