I Forge Iron

Spanish sweet steel???

Hello everyone my name is Jeremy and I'm fairly new to blacksmithing. I am also in the navy stationed in southern spain. I got my start one day because I had a fire going in the yard and had a piece of rebar I threw into it as the fire burned and the wind picked up I was able to start seeing the changes taking place within the bar and decided I'd give it a shot I found a 50 kg peddinghaus anvil in town at a shop being shut down for 200 and decided that was a great start and was also the purchase that solidified my decision to start smithing I then purchased the whitlocks wood fire forge with a hand blower and went to work and cut a ton of rebar we had sitting around the compound. With that rebar I have made some knives key chains a couple pendants and bracelets along with some punches and some drifts my next project is a couple pairs of tongs. But enough back ground on my short career so far this is about a steel I just purchased. I was visiting shops around town looking for a piece of steel that would work for a hammer I found nothing but I was told to go out to the local steel mill. Upon getting there they still didn't have anything big enough for me to use without doing some major upsetting but they did have some rebar big enough that I was about to get a few pieces cut for free. What I also got was 6 meters of a carbon steel content and type completely unknown. All the people could tell me was that in spain they call it sweet steel. Has anyone heard of this before? Is this the same as sweet iron that you would use for horse bits? Also if so what type of quench would work best I plan to take all the scale off it and heat it to just above non magnetic then air cool it file test it and see how it does if it's still soft reheat and oil quench it and file test again just wondering if anyone on here has an idea and might be able to save me some time. Thank you all for your time and help.