I Forge Iron

Forklift tine anvil, heat treat?

Hello, i am just getting into bladsmithing and have decided to make my own anvil out of a scavenged (25$) forklift tine. I am open to any suggestions on how to improve the design i have laid out in the pictures.

I kind of want to put in a hardy tool hole but i don t really know how to go about it.

Back to the main topic, should i heat treat in any way the top layer to make it more resilient to the pounding before i weld it all together.

Thank you

20160621_164411.jpg

20160621_164619.jpg

Unless you can get full thickness welds, with propped pre and post heat and heat treat, using one section on end is the best bet, the other peices are sertainly good stock for other stuff, even a top for a mild steel body anvil (fully welded and heat treated) that heavy of a peice welded to a big hunk of mild should water quench, otherwise fallow the directions in "The Compleat Modern Blacksmith. 

Ok so here is a sketch of what i plan on having as a finished product. I want to use the whole tine for weight as i don t have a mild steel anvil to weld a portion to. I have access to a welder and can get the whole thing welded solid with filet welds, after 100% prepped of course. I know it's a lot of work but i want to have a good, heavy anvil that will last.

The fork tips (welded to each side) would dig into the stump after being drawn in by the come along pulling the whole thing down to the stump by the fork rings.

Now my next question, should i weld a bunch of smaller pieces on end as shown in the sketch or just heat treat the top flat piece and weld it on?

For heat treat what temp should i heat to and how long before quench?

Thanks

20160621_204558.jpg

it is no good HT then welding,

welds should go right to the center of the material not just round the edge

all those pieces stacked on the top would mean alternate hard and soft bits on the face as the weld material will not be the same