I Forge Iron

Special swage block

JBOLDUC

Hi,

I am new to blacksmithing so everything is new for me. Actually I am at the step of finding equipment for my new hobby.

Recently, I found this swage block. I don't know if it is really special but I did not find any other like this on the internet. The dimensions are 13.5 x 17.5 x 4" and it weight 203 lbs.

Part of the block looks to be dedicated to farriers. The hook form has the same shape as a farrier nippers head. The large radius fit the shape of a horse shoe toe. The waves on the side fit the nail groove of a horse shoe.

The other parts of the block has 3 shapes looking like tools head (adze or mattock, not sure of the right English words). 

Does someone has an idea of how old it could be?  

Also, I would like to use it as it was in the past, and forge my own tool heads. I do not have any experience in using swage block to form object and I really don't want to damage it. Any advises would be appreciated.

Does someone has an idea on how these tool head opening were used?  And, what kind of material and what form should I start with.

Thanks for your help.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

IMG_2767.JPG

IMG_2766.JPG

so what's the reason for this post???? the title says "special swage block" but theirs no description or pictures. not sure if that was on purpose, I'm going to guess no because there is a comma after the hi. did you just accidently press submit topic?

Littleblacksmith

You are right Littleblacksmith, I accidently press the submit topic :wacko:.  And the time between then and now it the time it takes me to edit the massage.

So now, every body knows that I don't write very fast. :D

Again, any advise would be very appreciated.  Thanks for reading.