I Forge Iron

What else do you do?

Soupyjones

I have been spending a great deal of time reading this site recently which has semi naturally raised some questions from my better half. My personal favorite so far has been "what kind of people are blacksmiths?". I must admit that I had no answer for her. As a result I am curious what else the members of the forum get up to outside of the shop.

I am an electrician by trade which soaks up most of my non sleeping time. When I get a chance I like to play bad golf and make what I consider good barbecue. I ride my horse when I can. For the most part I just try to find fun ways to drink beer outside.

What kinds of things get you out of your respective shops?

I am a professional major-gifts fundraiser for a private liberal arts college. I hold a degree in Ancient Greek Language and Literature, I mess about in the kitchen and the garden, and I have a lovely wife, two darling (if infuriating) children, and and two utterly spoiled pitbulls.

Reading intervention teacher at the middle school levels, boat storage business operator (with some minor boat repair in there).

Woodworking, metal working, photography, reading, I was pretty heavily into hydroponic gardening, but put it aside for quite a while.  Food prices, rising like they are, has rekindled that hobby, except now I am looking at aquaponics because I am supposed to eat more fish.

Sounds like the dating game

I like Pina Coladas and getting caught in the rain.

I am married person #7

Thomas Powers; married going on 32 years now; blacksmithing around 35 years now as my primary hobby; spent one of those years apprenticed to a sword maker back in the early '80's.