I Forge Iron

New to metal work and need some help

So I've never used one of these forums  before or been good at writing, so       hopefully I do this right.  I've always     wanted to learn how to forge and cast metal. I've played around with casting   aluminum a little bit with minimal success. But loads of fun. But when I get back home from work I want to start learning to forge. I have a general idea on what I want to build for a gas forge but no real good ideas on what to use to make it work well and I have a RR tie I'm going to try and make into a anvil. If there's anyone out there that could share some tips, tricks, and advice on materials,tools, techniques, ect. All would be greatly appreciated. 

Don't use a RR tie to make an anvil, the creosote is nasty stuff---use a  piece of rail if you can't find a nicer solid chunk of steel

The Complete Modern Blacksmith by Weygers has a whole chapter of turning a chunk of rail into an anvil and is one of the books I suggest for folks starting out.

Welcome aboard Jedediah, glad to have you.

Have we met? I live on Vine Rd. and silly buggers they are the Association of Alaskan Blacksmiths elected me president. Our next club meeting is in March, I'll have to ask the date my memory stinks. We're also hosting a 2 day Mark Aspery Joinery clinic June 11th. & 12th.

Meetings are open you only have to be a member to participate in club business. There is usually at least one demonstrator at meetings and several stations for folk to work at.

Clinics are pay to play of course and we're working out the fee for Mr. Aspery's clinic.

Near the bottom of the Iforge opening page is the regional organizations section The Alsakan Association sub section is near the top. I'll PM you with more direct contact info if you wish.

Frosty The Lucky.

1 hour ago, ThomasPowers said:

Don't use a RR tie to make an anvil, the creosote is nasty stuff---use a  piece of rail if you can't find a nicer solid chunk of steel