I Forge Iron

Oil forge ideas

Hello everyone 

I have been throwing around the idea of a used oil forge or a diesel forge design. Now I know there are many threads on the idea but hear me out. I'm totally new to the idea of liquid fuel forges and hAve no idea where to start. I have all the tools and such needed to build one but I just need some starter or a how to oil forge for dummies ideas or pages to look at. Simple plans would be nice 

Thanks 

Here's my 2 cents:  It can be done.  Whether or not it is worth it to you I can't say.  I built a home made siphon nozzle system which used compressed air to pull and mist the used oil and a blower from the power vent of a hot water heater for the forced air. The benefit of that is it only pulls fuel while the compressed air is flowing, so you're less likely to end up with a big puddle of oil like you might with a gravity fed system.  It was a bit difficult to start sometimes, so I usually fired it up on kerosene or diesel and switched to the used oil once it got hot.

Here's the down side:  Used oil (motor or veggie) changes viscosity significantly with temperature.  In order to maintain a certain temperature over time you have to have the same fuel and air ratio.  This can be done as simply as a drip system and a blower with an air adjustment or some kind of pump to deliver a constant stream of oil under pressure.  For my siphon nozzle system the change in hydraulic pressure from full to nearly empty in the container I was pulling from was enough to require frequent adjustments to the fuel/air ratio. It was different from day to day as well since the ambient temperature affected the thickness of the oil and the ability of the siphon nozzle to pull in the oil. I probably went too complicated, but in the end I figured I was spending more time fiddling with the controls than banging on hot metal so I converted it to propane and haven't regretted the decision.