I Forge Iron

Absolute Newbee from Virginia

jerryt

Hi Folks,

I'm 72 years old and a retired 30+ year Army field artillery guy who started a small business after retirement in 93 and wound that down in 2011.  Now run a weekend inside flea market in my building,  Got interested in welding a couple of years ago and one metalworking thing led to another...here I am.  Absolutely there is much to learn!

Got lucky last Saturday on a big anvil (300+/- lbs) and hope to find others.  It is Fisher, I think.  Base is hastily constructed 16x16x16" of 6x6" scrap treated post held together by 24 threaded rods 3/8".

Jerry

IMG_5955.JPG

IMG_5962.JPG

IMG_5966.JPG

Hey Jerry. You'll recognize quite a few  guys here from over there. Glad to see you joined and am looking forward to what you make once you get all set up. Take a minute and add your location to your profile so we always know where you are at. You'll find the guys here very helpful and many will go out of their way to help a new guy if they know you are in the area.

Thanks DSW, I had a heck of a time getting on here.  I must have registered a year or two ago and when I try to log in it tells me I'm banned.  Don't think I ever posted.  Tried my storeman e-mail and it blocked me there also.  Finally got on my wife's puter and registered under a little used g-mail account and it let me in.  I don't know what has blocked my usual e-mail accounts.  Sent an e-mail to admin from blocked status and got no response.  Will update my profile.

Jerry