I Forge Iron

new job - safely swinging a hammer?

Hi. I was offered an apprenticeship doing sheet metal work, I started about a month ago. First week or two I was fine, but the proceeding, well... my hands and wrists have been extremely sore from swinging a hammer 40 hours a week. I've been doing various metal work for a couple of years now, I've practiced enough prior to this job that I can make steady, accurate blows for a few hours, but I've never previously done that full time. I'm having a hard time keeping up, and my hands can be so cramped up some mornings that I'm afraid I may be hurting myself long term. Is this something I should be worried about, or should I keep plugging along? 

I'll take a swing

First of all how long has the pain persisted? If it has been a few weeks that's one thing, a couple months is another.

I work a variety of jobs, and when switching from one that doesn't take much hand strength to one that requires gripping, grabbing, holding, and snatching things I always experience a period of discomfort, usually for a few weeks before I get the strength back, and it can take months when first starting a new activity before I find that I can work continually week in and week out without fatigue. The good news there is once you get the strength your body remembers and although the soreness may crop up when you return to the task after an absence you will get the strength back just like old times.

In the mean time I find heat helps, not cold. Like wearing a jacket with pockets now that it is winter to keep your hands in when you are out and about, and warm gloves. Pain rubs like tiger balm work for some people.