I Forge Iron

New blacksmith - semi-leaf springs

Greetings IForgeIron friends. I'm new to blacksmithing and but I've been lurking on the forums here for about a year now and learned a lot from you guys, so thanks! But I've come across an issue and I'm not sure what is wrong. So I found it is time for me to join in, and hopefully some one will impart their wisdom upon me. I've got most of my shop put together, I built myself a propane forge, I've got a decent starting anvil. I've managed to do several small projects with smaller metals and things like RR spikes. Recently though I acquired a leaf spring from a semi trailer. I cut a few pieces off with torch. My main goal was to just draw the pieces out first into something of workable size. But much to my chagrin they are incredibly resistant to my attempts. I'm using a 2.5lb hammer (which my only guess is I might just need to get a bigger one) but after heating it to white hot and pounding on it I'm barely putting a dent in it. Am I just a wimp and need to grow my beard out more? Thanks again for any advice!

Yes the alloy steels are a lot more resistant to hammering---some of them will just laugh at you when you hit them with a sledge.  How large is your anvil?  Is it mounted securely?  Can you get someone to hold the piece while you hit it with the proverbial bigger hammer?

(I used to smith in Fort Smith but now I'm a borderline case...)

I think my Anvil is 125# (It came mounted to a heavy duty iron pole welded to a truck wheel and all the writing has rubbed off) so it is mounted securely. I could probably grab some one and get a sledge, but at the moment it would probably just be easier to get the metal I can solo work.

(Small world! I know there is a lot of smiths up in NWA but I haven't run into any here in the Fort yet)