I Forge Iron

Am I a Blacksmith?

I have retired and started visiting sites like this because I have a little background in metal and its uses. I know the difference between tempering to purple or straw and so on. I own an anvil and assorted tools along with a propane forge. Yet I am not a blacksmith.

Having never made a rams head or a bottle opener nor a leaf I have decided I am a mechanic not a smith. The work I have done over the last 50 years has been to improve function or repair broken pieces of equipment. So I have decided I am a mechanic not a smith.

Not having been born with a rounding hammer as a pacifier nor learning the trade while in the womb I have a great deal of respect and understanding for those that ask questions and never think less of them because they are trying to learn. The one thing a mechanic learns is if you treat people good they return the treatment if you treat them poorly you will have a life of misery.

To quote a fine man that has passed "There is no excuse for rude"

So for me at 68 years old I have settled on being a mechanic while trying to learn how to make something pretty.

To the engineers who have brought about change thank you cars today travel 100K on the same spark plugs. I remember dong valve jobs on cars with 20K miles and they thought they were fortunate. Yes todays engineers have improved the life I iive by many fold.

To all the blacksmiths now and in the future this Nimrod will try to learn something new so if my questions seem dumb please be patient.

Mechanic Bill

Welcome to the site. Start by reading the stickies, then read what interests you. This will answer a lot of your questions. If you have additional questions or need details explained, tell us what you have tried, how it worked out, and where you want to go from there. This will save us from starting the explanation at the beginning (dirt before the dinosaurs) and allow us to jump in at your lever of knowledge to explain things.