I Forge Iron

Testing a forge weld, what to look for?

Today I tried a bit of forge welding too. Just a test and nothing complicated. I bend over the last bit of some flat bar, smashed it flat and then welded it . First cleaned it, then heated it up in my charcoal fire. I used a bit of borax, heated more till yellow heat and tested with a pointed end of another piece of steel if it was sticky. Heated a little more and smashed it on the anvil. Repeated for good measure and then tried to pry it apart in the vise.

Now I need a bit of help. Did this weld at all? What am I looking at? The nice gray areas, where they welded? Is it always possible to pry apart a forge weld?

foto (1).JPG

nope they shouldnt come apart, how many times did you try to weld it, did you flux everytime? looks like it was to cold to me, but im not an expert on the subject, but thinner stock cools quicker so it might have been hot when you pulled it out, but not when you went to actualy hammer on it. just a guess though

Nick and Thomas seem to be saying the same thing.

Did you preheat your anvil? If you're welding thin stuff you can't rest it on the anvil face before you hit it. They have to happen simultaneously, and you have to pick the steel back up between strikes. 

My first real goal is making some hinges for a couple of cabinets I want to make. So I really have to do more practice.

About all the tips posted above: No I didn't think of any of these. So, thanks for summing them up again.

Heated a little more and smashed it on the anvil. Repeated for good measure and then tried to pry it apart in the vise.

Flux is not glue, in fact you do not need flux to forge weld. The folks from UK do not use flux and make nice forge welds.