I Forge Iron

Intoducing myself . . Total n00b here . . . just getting started . .

John Galt

Hello Folks! Nice forum you have here.  Have spent a few hours here and there reading various topics. Specifically about Hoods, Chimneys, and coal.

I am a retired engineer/tech (telecom and public safety radio systems) living in beautiful Central NY. Hate the politics, love the countryside and the people. Currently looking for part time work . . or to create my own part time work. We are also starting up a small 54 acre farm/retirement homestead in the hills of Oneida County. So I stay pretty busy.

Why Blacksmithing? Simply stated: I have been Hi Tech most of my life. I grew up on a Dairy Farm in NH and now that I am retired I want to go back to those roots, low tech, off-grid capable, more self sufficient. Low Tech. I discovered an interest in the craft about 20 years ago when I went to the Erie Canal Village outside Rome, NY and wandered into the Smithy. I spent the rest of the day there asking questions and watching the Smith work amazing things with his hands, hot steel, and a hammer. I am sure I drove the Smith near to crazy with all my questions. I didstinctly remember being amazed with the Forge Welding process . .  I had no idea that this was possible without modern equipment.

Early this summer I went to a farm auction and picked up an old Buffalo Forge complete with a Buffalo Forge Climax hand crank blower. The forge was piled full of tongs, hammers and assorted chisels, files and random pieces of iron for $100 for the lot. A good start. I spent a week or so restoring the forge and will be firing her for the first time up today.