I Forge Iron

Problem with my temper...next step?

Hello everyone,

Okay, I'll make a full confession right off the bat and get it out of the way.

I'm VERY new to blacksmithing, haven't actually finished my first set of tongs yet (because it turns out I'll have to adapt my forge to allow more room for them), and I've been happily banging away at a knife...in spite of the very clear (and without doubt very reasonable) warning that making knives is a TERRIBLE place to start forging. (waves at Frosty and ThomasPowers).

I've read many times that you like pictures, so I'll explain my problem with a run-down of where I'm at...

1) Old (non-identified) file wanted to become a knife....I start carressing it to shape with my hammer. (photo)

2) I get it to pretty much where I want it (edge about 1.3 mm thick, hardly any grinding to do except to tidy up the contour or the point) (photos )

3) I took it back to the forge to thin out the profile of the knife, taper the tang slightly, and get the edge tidy. I quench it (in oil) and start to temper it directly on the coals (as in the Knifemaking Unplugged dvd) (photos ) BUT run out of light, and figure I can finish the last part (getting more of the blade to a bluish colour) the next day.

4) Tonight I realised that it might be difficult to control the heat from a bed of coals to precisely the area I wanted heating, so thought Icould do it with a gas burner (I can feel some of you raising your eyebrows).

5) I heated the back of the blade, and the part I heated went bronze...and bluish colour seeped down almost to the blade edge. This was exactly the opposite to what I expected. Now the photos (called) show that most of the blade is bluish, but wiht some large Bronze areas near the point and at the black of the blade. (hard to see them because the phots were taking after dark with electric lights on)