I Forge Iron

A beginner looking for some knowledge

Hi everyone.

to start with I am new to blacksmithing, honestly that is a bit of an understatement. Being as I have yet to actually put hammer to anvil, I am not sure you could even say I am new to it lol. However, I do have an anvil and I have a makeshift forge which I plan to upgrade. And I have also done lots of research, which I like to do prior to doing anything. I intend to have my first attempt at smithing this weekend and I would like to primarially focus on Damascus and other forms of pattern welding.

This leads me to some of my first questions I have not been able to find answers to in all of my research. 

- Timascus: I inderstand it is patented but I don't understand, can titanium not be pattern welded like steel? And if so would this be infringing upon the patent?

- I also understand titanium is not a suitable blade material, but if used as a layer in Damascus (if that is possible) would it compromise the integrity of the blade material? And if not could it be colored as it is in Timascus? 

- and as for colors, how are colors achieved in Damascus? I have seen a knife made of Damascus that had some truly remarkable blues and purples, it was a video on you tube of a MSC mick strider custom cobalt forged knife. How are these colors achieved? Is it particular metals that when etched turn those colors? Or is it by anodizing? 

- has anyone got a good reference on where I can learn what different metals will bring what characteristics IE blacks, Greys, and silvers and so on in Damascus and mokune gane? 

- and finally when anodizing can one anodize and not, effect the hardness of their heat treat?

Thank you you very much in advance!

If you add your location to your profile so it shows under your avatar you may be surprised how many people may be in your area that may be able to help you out.