I Forge Iron

Solar Powered Shop

I am new to the Smithing game and the forum as well. I have a location to set up shop but i have no power there. I am wanting to run a small welder and a couple of fans or a lot of fans haha, but I was wondering if any of y'all run your shops on solar power, or at least partial solar. If so, what all have you done to make it work best, is it even possible?

Electric welding requires a fair amount of power. Even small 110v machines are severely limited by how much power you feed them. Read the fine print, and most will not reach stated max output unless plugged into something larger than a 20 amp 115v dedicated circuit. You really almost need to go to 230v electric to have real power in a welder, or spend big bucks for the better computerized inverter welders to maximize what you get out of lower voltage machines.

Simplest solution to power issues is to go to an engine driven welder/ generator. Depending on the size/type, many also allow you to plug in things like lights, grinders, saws etc into their auxiliary outlets. Some of the bigger units produce enough aux power to power many things in a home if need be in the event of a power outage.

Smaller units can often be found cheap on CL, especially if they need some engine work. New units run the gambit from relatively inexpensive to "Oh my God" in price. Depends what you need/want.