I Forge Iron

What oil should I use for quenching?

I am new to blacksmithing and don't know what to use.

What oil you guys use to quench for hardening, as well as what you use for quenching while forging, such as for cooling the tip of a nail before passing it through the header so it doesn't get stuck or flattened?

Thanks so much

Your multiple question post has been split into multiple posts and placed on the correct forums.

Be prepared for curmudgeons to come down on you a bit for spamming the same questions on multiple places on the board without even bothering to do any of your own basic research on this site and in other areas where this info is readily available.

Edited by latticino

Since you have not bothered to read anything here for yourself I wont bother explaining what to do here either, you wont read it.  My shop rate is $50 per hour if you want me to do it for you.

I am the one of the old guys you were warned about :D

When making nails you can put a HOT nail tip, (and whole nail) through the header. The header wedges the material in place so you can forge the nail head. You then only need to flip the header over and tap it and the nail should fall out.

Quenchants can be air, water, brine, various oils, multiple other materials, and specialty products depending on the material being used.

Use the proper quenchant for the steel being used. If you have unknown steel, then YOU have to figure out what works by testing.

Edited by Glenn

As stated the quenchant depends on the alloy and some on the intended usage (blades tend to go one step slower in quench large masses faster)  Using the wrong quenchant for the alloy and use can result in catastrophic failure.  I have NEVER quenched a nail until it was time to knock it out of the neail header the shape of the preform and the shape of the header takes care of all of what you were talking about.