I Forge Iron

What materials to forge for a beginner?

I am new to blacksmithing and don't know what to use for material. I was going to use rebar and railroad spikes, but heard they don't work that well. I am looking into making knives, nails, and different types of tools. Is there any other scrap/not expensive metal I can use for forging these things?

Thanks so much

Your multiple question post has been split into multiple posts and placed on the correct forums.

A lot of these questions have been asked and answered before.  You should try cruising thru the site and reading some more so you have a better basis for asking your questions.

Junkyard steel is a mixed blessing.  Mild steel can be used for nails and some tooling (like tongs for instance), but knives and struck tools should probably be made of high carbon tool steel.  With the time invested in making knives, it is probably worth purchase of steel of known quality, but a fair source for tool steel are automotive shops that do a lot of modding of suspension.  If they have cutoffs from new coil or leaf springs  these can be used for making tools and knives.  You should probably consider starting with more basic projects to get the initial techniques down before assaying something as complicated as a knife, where esoteric things like proper heat treatment can make or break you.  Check out the many posts on beginning blacksmithing as well as the "stickies".