I Forge Iron

First Blacksmithing Class - Peter's Valley

Technically the topic is true; my first class was in bladesmithing, so we didn't get to cover a bit of the stuff we did this weekend.

I took this class on Memorial Day weekend at Peter's Valley School of Craft in Layton, NJ. The class was taught by Sam Salvati.

I'd have posted the photos sooner, but I've been too busy with things at work, visiting the NJ Ren Faire with my wife, helping my family move, and preparing for my wife's birthday that I forgot to share what I did!

I know none of this is really "art," and most of it is amateur at best, but as a beginner, I'm reasonably proud of what I hammered out in two days of class with shared tools (one guillotine for 11 students, three hot cutters, etc). 

fORK.thumb.jpg.b0648617fb406efd4f4c98bff

A flesh fork. The bevel on the handle needs a bit more work, and I know I need more practice for fishtail scrolls. You also can't see the marks we put on the handle, but it is what it is.

handle.thumb.jpg.34f21798499bb07d8ad1cbb

My first attempt at a handle (front) with an attempt at a leaf (left) that I made during our free studio time at the end of the day. The handle in the back is NOT mine, but an example I was shown during our free time.
It's not entirely level, and the sections to attach it to the door/gate aren't perfectly matched, but for a first attempt at the end of a 14+ hour day, I'm pretty proud!

hooks.thumb.jpg.bb79e8141ddcf298998fed5c

Two of the hooks I made for the class. The one in the back is a simple hook to be mounted via a screw/nail, while the one predominantly in this photo is my first attempt at an s-hook (made a mistake with the top, but tried to make up for it).These were the first projects made on day one before lunch.
I also made another hook with a long nail to drive it in or, with some work, I can turn it into an over-the-door hook; I haven't photographed it yet.

poker.thumb.jpg.c7be796d9a0d77832565f73c