I Forge Iron

New guy from Arkansas

Hey Y'all I'm a new guy from Arkansas. I recently built a coal forge and I'm just getting started. I've been to several demonstrations and a few blacksmith meetings. I work as a carpenter of 30 years. I have some welding experience. I have 2 anvils and a leg vice. I have a shop full of welding equipment and mechanic tools. It's not working so well to add Blacksmith tools in the mix. I plan to build a small blacksmith shop this coming winter. Until then I'll get by working out front of my shop. I have met a few members of the BOA and hope to join soon. I'm looking forewards to some good learnin. So far I've made coat hooks and fire tools for the forge. My plan is to make Christmas presents for the older folk in the family and see where this leads. I collect amd restore old tractors and so I come across some shafts and such I plan on using for this. I also made a hardy hot cut from an old tractor spindle which seems to work ok. All the scrap yards in this area seem to be closing and the ones left don't sell to the public. If anyone in the area of North West Arkansas has any leads on scrap I'd appreciate it. I feel very fortunate to have some experienced Blacksmiths in the area who have already been of much help. I don't know where this will lead but it's a ride I plan to take and make the most of.

Thanks for sending me over here Arkie. This my first day off in quite a while. My wife is makin me rest today so I've spent a lot of time on here reading. I've hardly scratched the surface. I appreciate all the help you've given me to get started at this.

I believe that IFI is the greatest source of blacksmithing information anywhere.  If you can't find it here, then it just may not exist.... ;)

Charles hit the nail on the head...LOTS of reading to be done here!

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks for the welcomes. Thomas I live west of Eureka Spgs.