I Forge Iron

Music from Metal

Glenn: Ask Pete Fels about "Moby Harp" sometime.

I've given thought to making a wind chime for a particularly annoying neighbor just down the hill from us using R R rail and a wind driven clapper. The downside is it'd be less than 100' from our house so I let better sense decide. Well Deb had SOME say in it. <wink>

Clyde Wynia has a major display of really cool sculpture and much of it is loud, fun and loud. "Jurrustic Park" will Google you there.

Might be fun to have a contest. Hmmmm, how about a gong? We can decide the winner by how many miles away it can be heard. Police reports can be the meter!

Frosty

Since I'm not a musician, I've never given any thought to making an instrument.   A guy that I know has an mbira that has forged keys.  He said that his marimba teacher had made it before he moved to the US.  It looks very easy to make, but without knowing how it should be tuned I would be lost.

The idea of the post was to show musical instruments that could be made from metal by a blacksmith.

Outside the box would certainly apply to many of these instruments.  I was looking for a musical instrument that is heavy with the WOW and WHAT"S THAT factor, followed by it actually being able to create musical notes. Examples from the above video, playing a spring under tension, or a woodwind instrument made from square metal tubing. We are surrounded by metal, may as well put it to use. (grin)

I've been making "tuned" Cow Bells for several years now, ... using a variety of materials and designs.

Perhaps the most interesting aspect of that, is in how Heat Treating can alter the frequency of a fairly "mild" steel bell.

"All Instrument" clip-on electronic tuners, ... for under $20, ... make it possible for the "musically challenged" to create bells suitable for a wide variety of uses.

The neighbors Goats are currently testing my latest designs, ... and they're not complaining .....