I Forge Iron

To lurkers who haven't signed up

It's worth while doing! I have been visiting these forums as a guest for about six months, soaking up everything I could. I suppose I felt that since I have nothing to contribute or any specific questions to ask, there was no need. How wrong I was!

Aside from the obvious benefit of actually engaging the community, the amount of information available in the members only areas is incredible! Huge amounts of stickies with great info for beginners, a lot of which are fun to read with humorous antics. Then there is the blueprints section, which unfortunately from what I've gathered only some sections are currently working. I've read all that is, and it's amazing.

I won't go on more, but as much as this post is advise to those like myself six months ago, let this post serve as a massive thank you to contributors, and to introduce myself.

Alex

Edited by alextynan

Frosty the lucky, or whatever you go by now, I can't keep up! Haha. I'm a fitter machinist by trade, have only recently gotten a poor excuse for a forge set up at work. I've got a roll of kaowool, 5lb of satanite and a pint of itc100 on the way to show the boss what a real forge looks like. I have managed to nearly complete a set of tongs, taking me a long time to draw the 25 x 8 bar down to a workable size! Only just found a video explaining a drawing technique that might make it easier next time!

FYI to the new members that want to change theIR Email to a fake one after joining, dont do it.  You must keep a valid Email to remain a member here. or your account will be closed.  This is also a public service announcement for the 2 now X members that didnt believe us when we posted this info in the read here before joining section.