I Forge Iron

Hi Guys.

Im new to blacksmithing (I'm still playing with rebar). However I decided to try and make a cutter for my Hardie. I live on an Island and couldnt get 1 1/2" inch mild steel so had to buy 1 3/4" Bright steel. 

Is this any good for tool making and how high should I try to get the cutting edge. I had to buy a meter of this bar ( xxxx expensive stuff). So Im hoping it has its uses.

Ive started to shape the bar using varous hammers from 7lb down to 4lb when my arm get sore. I have also been using the hardie hole as a dye and tried hitting the bar into the hole and upsetting the steel above the line. 

All advice would be welcome 

I believe bright steel is cold rolled mild steel right? You have to figure that cold mild steel will be harder than hot mild steel so it should make serviceable hot cut. However, you'd have a much more hardy, pun intended, hardy if you made it from an old car axle or like material. My hot cut is made from 1.5" axle stock and I use it unhardened. Works great. Google Brazeal style hot cut.

Not sure I understand the upsetting bit. Are you trying to make the hot cut wider? 1.75" stock will easily render itself much wider without upsetting. To fit into the hardy hold, the stock must be drawn out. Made thinner and longer. 

I suggest you pose highly specific questions. I am sure it is obvious to you what you would like help with but it isn't very clear to me.

One other suggestion; search this site. Not many topics have never been covered. then ask specific questions. 

Best search is as follows; making a hardy cut off tool iforgeiron

which lead to this; https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&rlz=1C1RNBD_enUS472&ion=1&espv=2&es_th=1&ie=UTF-8#q=making a hardy cut off tool iforgeiron.com&es_th=1

Lots and lots of info. 

By the way, welcome.