I Forge Iron

Can I turn the Steel Plate into a Swage Block?

b4utoo

Not really a good shape for a swage block. I would keep as is, and use it for a post vise base . My Dad made this base from a piece 2" thick, and a 24" diameter. Made it easy to move around, just tip and roll. 

Yes , swage blocks can be made from plate. My Dad also made one of those out at the college we were taking blacksmithing classes at.

Hi b4utoo!

Upsetting plate was the first thing came into my mind, too.

May I ask why do you need a swage block? There are plenty other ways to solve problems you would use a swage block for. Of course those blocks are really nice and desirable things so I understand that one wants one :)

Bests and happy hammering!

Gergely

Those are really cool Biggundoctor! I am completely new to all this. But I am trying to branch out from woodworking.

Swiveling post vise is great idea...

I am still looking for a post vise :)

I just watch this video this guy used a swage block very convietly making a Flatter hammer.

Upsetting plate seems more logical choice because of the shape and thickness after several responses to that logic.

I think if you ask him, Tubbe can tell you how to forge a flatter without swage block. Although that video of his is great!

If you are beginner and if you don't mind me for saying so - try to focus a bit smaller things first as flatters or hammers. Making and maintaining a proper fire during heating big stock is not that easy at first neither to shape those big chunks to your will. Ok, I stop being so negative - I don't know what got into me. So all I'm saying is if you start with small projects you can sidestep lots of failures. And so you can enjoy the learning curve more.

Happy hammering

Gergely

It is a complete ground round already. Every shop should have one, though I was one place recently where there was a hole in the floor and an ancient anvil dropped into the hole for upsetting. I saw it being used and it worked very well.