I Forge Iron

Forge welding - Mild Steel - Questions

So I am new to this whole blacksmithing thing, have been actively smacking hot metal with a big hammer since about the second week in January of this year. 

Today, I attempted forge welding for the second time,  The first time being a Rail road spike, i tried to fold it on itself, it failed in a spectacular fashion as to be expected when a newb does something beyond their abilities. 

I took some 1/2 inch flatbar ( A36 I think. not exactly sure. ) and cut it to 6 inch lengths and stacked it 4 deep ( bar 3 is longer to use as a handle ) heated it, fluxed it, heated it till a coat hanger stuck to it,  and then lightly tapped it.. 

Eureka.... Success, I was able to feel the difference tapping once the 4 layers had bonded. So I wire brushed it all off, refluxed it, and stuck it back in the fire.. 

And thats where things went wrong. I was able to forge weld about the first inch or so of the 6 inches, but no matter the amount of flux, nor the heat I reached I could not get the rest of this " Test Billet " to forge weld. 

I suspect that the flux ( I did flux the entire piece, not just the first part ) burned off further down and scale developed which prevented the success after the initial heating. 

So I spread it apart and sure enough, there was scale in between the pieces, I should add that i took each piece to my new belt sander, and made sure the metal to metal contact was pure metal, no scale or oxy layers before I started. 

20150221_185441[1].thumb.jpg.464d719035b

So my questions are these. 

Is it better to heat the entire billet, and attempt to forge weld the entire length in a single heat, rather then attempt to do it in sections ?