I Forge Iron

Frontier/Fur Trade Blacksmithing

I'm just starting out, I've put together a solid fuel forge and a pseudo (sledge head in concrete) stump anvil. Took a couple of classes and managed to make some tools. I volunteered to help out an experienced blacksmith with some demos this summer and am trying to find info on frontier/fur trade blacksmithing. I found a couple of pages on the web and a book and dissertation on a couple or digs around the great lakes. Thanks for any information that you can provide.

Bo

Colonial American and period French and English iron work are realy what you are talking about, with a preponderance of trade knives, axes, traps and gun locks. Plus everything else smiths did. As shipping costs and just the logistics of transporting things to frontier outposts, recycling (always popular among smiths) and fewer, lighter and cobbled together/DIY tooling would be the order of the day, big trading posts on major river routs might sport a fully equipped shop with regular supply, otherwise your persona isn't likely to have a 150# London patern anvil lol. Stake, post and block anvils are the order of the day, and in the smaller posts, your limited to what can be brought in by pack mule, canoe or porter,  

Dear Bo,

Try the Museum of the Fur Trade in Chadron, NE.  I'm not sure what they have on their website but they have displays of quite a number of artifacts that were made by fur trade blacksmiths, many from the Hudson's Bay Company.  They may have a number of books for sale which will have some good chapters.

There is also the Museum of the Mountain Man in Pinedale, WY.  I haven't been there but I hear it is good.