I Forge Iron

newly built forge questions

ForgeMan32

Keep the burner OUT of the fire chamber or it'll just burn right off. Don't insert the burner any farther into the forge liner than you have to. A good kiln wash to harden it and raise it's temperature rating will make the Kaowool last longer. Yeah, kiln wash the entire liner.

Frosty The Lucky.

Ok well that's what I thought also I made a little freon can gas forge. But for some reason I was thinking if the burner was 6 inches away from the work it might not heat it well. I keep trying to post pics but when I try to click FullVersion of ifi on my phone it won't let me and it used to do it. I am not a newbie to forging just gas forges lol. I've always been a coal guy . But if I could just fire up a propane forge I think I would get to forge a lot more often

The Arizona Artist Blacksmith Association, has a plans section, there is a gas forge article... They mention that a longer distance between the burner and the wall resulted in better combustion... Its a good read.

Thanks sjs I will read up and I put it all together about two nights ago and did my kiln wash and fired it up for about thirty minutes and believe me I see what you mean it heated steel very well for a small single burner forge. It was glowing orange for sure but. The burner did sputter at low preasure is this normal . As soon as I would turn the regulator up it would smooth out

The burner sputtering at low flow is fairly usual. When the mixture speed in the burner tube is low, the flamefront can move down the mixture faster than the mixture moves up the burner tube. The flamefront runs down the tube until it runs out of mixture, when it goes out. Fresh mixture flows until it reaches the hot chamber, where it ignites and the whole thing happens again.