I Forge Iron

Which anvil to keep?

First, let me say that I am an absolute beginner. I decided a couple years back that I wanted to get into blacksmithing. I want to make basic tools, knives, hardware and fittings for our house, etc. I have been saving and researching in the meantime. I ended up buying 2 anvils, and I need advice on which to keep. I want to reclaim the money from one to buy the stuff to build my forge, etc.

First is a Peter Wright, 116 lbs. Face has a little bit of dish, with a large chip about 2 inches long.

Second is a Brooks (I think) that is almost like new, 100lbs.

I really like the PW because of the slightly larger size, horn and history. However I want to do real work on it and I don't know if I can with the face and edges the way they are. I don't want to repair it. The Brooks is in such good shape. So which one should I keep?

post-60901-0-80153000-1422493773_thumb.j  post-60901-0-42285200-1422494051_thumb.j  post-60901-0-72861600-1422494096_thumb.j  post-60901-0-04971000-1422494280_thumb.j  post-60901-0-28180900-1422494324_thumb.j

Not exactly. The Brooks looks to be cast ductile or steel. 

You should radius the edges of the anvil as you should radius the edges of all your tools, to not leave marks in your work or worse, cause shuts. The edges will last longer as well.