I Forge Iron

first Anvil

Well I have at long last aquired my first anvil .

It is a Jb 2 CWT and cost £142 .

It is quite difficult to obtain anything to do with blacksmithing as it seems every man and his dog want's to be a blacksmith or collect blacksmiths tools.

The anvil as been used and abused but it will do nicely for what I have in mind.

I was a boiler maker by trade but as the work in GB declined and factories closed I moved in to welding.

Now I am retired I need to do something or I will go crazy,being a Blackcountry mon working iron and staffies are in me blood .

Ta for the crack catch you later

post-13375-0-05385200-1422215367_thumb.j

That is a nice one, congrats. Glad you got a good one right out of the gate. Me nope didn't go down like that. I traded a $1000 shaker table for a 115lb Peter Wright that has a rattling top (delaminating) Next one was a real nice Trenton 177lb that is broken in half at the waist. Real cool looking flat solid top but has a huge u bolt holding it together. Someone here probably worked on it once. I will post pics as soon as I figure that out. Next we have a 77lb cast steel farrier anvil by Valley Forge and it came with a wicked rounding hammer and set of tongs plus stand. Good deal on that one and it's a user. Lastly a big PW that I am picking up tomorrow. If I could get a nice HB and a Mousehole I would stop looking for a bit. Anvil bug has a nasty bite, worse than gold fever. This post was in no way meant to be me bragging. If anything it lets you all know how I lost my mind when I got hooked on anvils. Everything else went on hold. Axe heads are nearly as bad lol. Be well everyone.

post-60141-0-30134300-1422245857_thumb.j

post-60141-0-33805800-1422245979_thumb.j

post-60141-0-25808300-1422246031_thumb.j