I Forge Iron

Crucibles???

Do you mean smelting which is making iron/steel from ore; or do you mean melting which is melting iron or steel for casting or alloying?

Smelting I don't use a crucible but a Scandinavian short stack bloomery; others use the tatara furnace.

Oh ya sorry I'm new to all this black smithing terms i just started learning about it the other day and I meant melting I just wasn't sure because all the crucibles that I have looked at will melt if I try to melt down steel

Oh ya sorry I'm new to all this black smithing terms i just started learning about it the other day and I meant melting I just wasn't sure because all the crucibles that I have looked at will melt if I try to melt down steel

Hi, what you want to research is not crucibles (though that method is possible) but rather cupola furnaces. 

Cupolas are more for doing cast iron and are great for that usage. For melting steel you will need to get a good steel melting temp rated crucible and also work with the possible uptake if carbon from the crucible and/or erosion of the crucible due to the flux used.

Let me say that if you are at the stage you don't know the difference between melting/foundry work and smelting you are nowhere near the level for melting and pouring steel. It's one of the most dangerous processes out there!!!!

So please tell us what you are trying to do and perhaps we can suggest a plan to get there from where you are at. For example we have several people on this board who do melt steel for doing wootz and others that work with cast iron.