I Forge Iron

Mokume Knife fittings

cliffrat

I saw this thread and thought I might post a pic of a bowie I made with mokume guard, spacers and frame. I have been making the stuff for a couple of years and the wife takes the finished material and makes jewelry from it.  More photos of the knife can be seen here: commercial link removed as per TOS  It's down towards the bottom of the photo group. Check out the Jewelry tab on the website for more images of the mokume we make. If anyone wants some tips or pointers, just ask.

Post photos here if you wish them to be seen, do not send members off site.

post-14677-0-17903100-1417749493_thumb.j

Cool fitting! The striping looks really neat with the mirrored blade!

Looks like it might be copper oxidized black against unpatinated nickel, or oxidized nickel against clean silver? Unless you went nuts with it and brought some form of iron into the mix.

This furniture is made from one billet of copper and nickle-silver. The brown material is the copper after applying Baldwin's patina. The starting billet was 25 layers (13 Cu, 12 NiSi). The pieces are 18 Ga. and 2"x3". Everything is made from a simple twisted bar.

My apologies about the commercial link. I kinda forgot about that.....

I am having trouble uploading a pic of the frame. It keeps telling me "upload failed"

I'll try to do it again later

• 6 months later...

Trying more pics now. I have forgotten if there are size rules for photos, and I cannot seem to locate any dimension/file size guidelines.

If this is too large a photo, I apologize and hopefully one of the moderators will chastise me promptly, so that I may remove it and replace it with something more manageable.

mokume bowie 022.jpg

Edited by cliffrat
wrong photo