I Forge Iron

Forge Refractory

Tyler90

I'm new to the art and am looking to make a new aluminum melting coffee tin. I just want to do it properly, the first time I didn't use any refractory.
from reading I see kaowool, satinite and ITC are highly recommended.

1) for melting aluminum the temp is so low would just refractory cement be sufficient?

2) if I make one for doing railroad spike work, since the temp is so much higher would just kaowool and ITV-100HT be sufficient? Or is the satinite necessary?

I can't seem to source satinite in my area or find an online dealer.

Ps: as of now I'm planning to use BBQ charcoal I might change to gas later

Any tips appreciated!
Thanks!

Hi Tyler.

Generally speaking, a forge and a furnace work better as two different set ups. Neither one is particularly hard to make though.  A coffee can furnace does adapt pretty well to gas from charcoal.  Although on a propane forge, you want insulation, on a coal forge, refractory is mostly aimed at protecting the forge material itself.

For something like aluminum, in something like a coffee can forge, you can get enough insulation from a number of sources. Furnace cement is fairly cheap and easy to get. I've also used the backyardmetalcasting.com recipe for homemade to great success. It's far from professional grade, but fine for something like that.

For rr spike work or other small forging, you could easily build a brake drum forge or 55 forge. You may also want to consider using lump charcoal rather than bbq charcoal. BBQ charcoal will eventually melt aluminum with forced air, but it's slow and not particularly satisfactory. Too much silica filler.