I Forge Iron

Anyone in the Toledo, OH area have a railroad track anvil?

Hi guys,

Im just getting started into this hobby and am building a small hobbyist setup. I already have the brake drum forge done but i cant for the life of me find an anvil.

I was hoping it would be easier if I asked on here and hopefully someone has one they want to get rid of. Obviously my preference would be an actual anvil with a hardy hole and such but Im not looking to pay much at all so I would be fine if someone has a railroad track they want to get rid of. Please, let me know!

Thanks a lot!

Are there any rail yards near you? Call the RR and ask about scrap. I was luck to find some repair going on near my work and asked the crew there and the *Gave* me a 3' section. More than I wanted LOL but I had no problem getting rid of what I didn't use

Far better than a chunk of rail would be a piece of forklift tine; call around to forklift service places and explain you want a broken/damaged tine---or even better a piece off the thick end and what it's for and see if you can get one at scrap rate.

You do realize that the largest annual blacksmithing conference in North America will be in Troy Ohio September 26,27,28 and there will be literally tons of blacksmithing stuff for sale there. We had a local fellow go and ending up buying 30 anvils and a trailer to get them back to NM one year.

http://www.sofablacksmiths.org/quadstate/2014/quadstate2014.html

Hey guys this is the original poster. For some reason, im locked out of that account?

As soon as I login, I cant access the site AT ALL. Like it says "you dont have permission". And it wont let me log out either. 

But thats not a huge deal I guess.

Anyways, in response to the replies I have tried almost every railyard and metal scrapyard and I always see railroad tracks but every single time they go on about how its a felony to sell railroad pieces to people. Ive tried convincing them but they wont have it at all lol.