I Forge Iron

Propane rigs

DSW

I'm no novice to Oxy acetylene heating/ cutting and even welding/brazing. I've been doing it for years. Recently I've been thinking of using the torch more for my blacksmithing projects and my 75 CF acetylene cylinder really doesn't cut it volume wise for running it for any length of time with a rosebud or even the mid sized cutting tip, so I'm thinking about going over to propane.

I have a number of options on which way to go. #1 would be new, #2 would be to throw a rig together based on what parts I already have simply buying those parts I need, Say a propane rosebud or cutting tip and grade T hose. I see good and bad points to all the options. Cost for parts alone is about 50% of new, and if I send any of my existing gear out for rebuild ( some may need it if I go that route) I'll quickly come close to the lower end of the new rigs I looked at.

I'm also seriously thinking about going with a gassaver at the same time and rigging up one of those stands that holds the torch so I can heat and "hand off " the torch since I usually work alone or rig it up so you can use the foot pedal to fire the torch as needed. One of the up sides of going with parts I already have is that I can use the savings to offset the cost of the gassaver.

I've looked at a bunch of the Victor stuff and man is their website one of the worst I've even seen. Right now I'm thinking either the Performer or Contender in LP. The Medalist in LP is about the same price as the Performer, but with a 25' hose vs 12 1/2' hose. Torch body/tips are also different as are the regs. Victor doesn't seem to have  a good comparison anywhere of what the differences are between A and B rigs are in their gear.

I'm wondering what rigs you all have set up, preferably brand and model. I'm also wondering how many are using Propane vs Acetylene, and if you use acetylene, what size tips and cylinders you usually use.

Thanks.