I Forge Iron

Hilt making

Clayton M.

I'm new to blacksmithing and bladesmithing but i've got a question that i wanted the answer to. Swords and some knives have hilts on them and i was wondering is it better to forge the hilt or to make one and solder it into place later? I'm not planning on making a sword or anything big for awhile, but i'm just curious about how it's done.

Good Morning,

A typical newby statement. Start by thinking Swords??? Start by doing the Olympics, before you can walk???????

Start with learning the basics!! purchase "A Blacksmithing Primer" or something similar. When you are comfortable working through everything Randy is teaching, you then maybe have some knowledgable reason to consider talking Swords. It is better to do something positive and you have a hope in finishing, than starting a huge Project that will break your heart because it isn't done after 3 years!!

Its a perfectly honest question that deserves an honest answer. Please excuse the curmudgeoning from Mr. Swede. I assume you mean the guard. It is usually pierced and mounted from the tang end and soldered in place. Thats not to say it can't be forged as an integral piece. Just much more difficult

Scott

May I commend to your attention "The Complete Bladesmith" and  "The Master Bladesmith" by James Hrisoulas  they go into detail on hilting swords including the making and affixing of the guard, grip and pommel.  Ask your local public library about ILL for books they don't have to hand.