I Forge Iron

Is this wrought iron?

I recently found a bucket of what appears to be salvaged square stock, all cut into around 6-8 inch pieces while salvaging my family's old barn for scrap metal.  I'm very new to blacksmithing, and I got very excited at the prospect of this being wrought iron. I took a hacksaw to a piece, cut it halfway, and then bent it. Here's a picture of the result.

From what I've seen, it doesn't look like wrought iron, but I think I read that in some triple rolled wrought it's hard to see the markings. What do you guys think?

post-56278-0-09539400-1408633861_thumb.j

Though I am no expert, this does not look like wrought to me.  There should be some fibrous structure to wrought iron.  Are the pieces square on both ends or does one end have some modification to it?  Coming from an old barn they could be something like harrow tines.  If so they are carbon steel and very good for making small tooling.

Welcome aboard Rizzler, glad to have you. If you don't put your general location in the header how do you expect IFI folk to drop by and mooch meals and beverages? Seriously, you might be surprised how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

Frosty The Lucky.

This is what wrought iron looks like, attachicon.gifwrought.jpghalf in round bar from an old grain silo.  You did the correct test, cut halfway, bend to breaking.

That's an interesting way of testing for wrought. I am usually working with it in the forge when it laminates and splits and by that time you have wasted time and heat. A quick test with a cut off wheel and bend is the way to go. I find wrought iron a pain to use and it's a pity because we have stacks of the stuff. I would trade it all for plain mild steel.
Or maybe I should just learn what to do with it.