I Forge Iron

Greetings!

Crawler

Hello, all!
My name is Chris, though I easily answer by Crawler. I have been visiting iFi for several months now, and finally got tired of not being able to see much of the work others display; and would also like to start (lightly) participating in the community.
I work as Vacation/Sick-Leave Relief for a bakery here in town that pops out 10,000+ loaves of bread an hour, when at full throttle.
Coming from a family of farmers, self-sufficiency and utilitarian are simply natural tendancies. Combine that with the old anvil that was used to help repair farm equipment at my Grandmas as a kid, and the whole "sharp & shiny's" aspect, and blacksmithing is a natural draw for me.
Unfortunately, my current circumstances prevent me from persuing what will sure become a comsuming, fullfilling hobby. So, I will continue to be a fly-on-the-wall and learn what I can until I get a "set" schedule and can maybe take a begginer class or two.
I am also going to start the slow proccess of aquiring the tools needed to start making the tools I'll need to make other things I'll need to make cool things. My better half, due to her (extensive!) crafting hobby, has finally started warming up to the idea of putting "set-up" in motion (hooray!).

Sincerely,
Crawler.

Well, it has been my internet handle for 15 years (aaand now I feel old... lol). Anyway, "The Amazing Spiderman" was my favorite cartoon at the time. Still fond of the franchise. So a couple classmates had already scooped up the likes of Spiderman and Doppleganger (sp?), I reasoned my way from Wall Crawler down to Crawler. And with the advent of voice-chat enabled gaming, and the fact that Chris is NOT an uncommon name, Crawler just simplifies things.

Wow... that got long-winded. This always seems to happen when I go typing stuff up before bed.

Hopefully my schedule is open whenever these events pop up. Posted on Thursday, and starts on Saturday. So preplanning is a crap-shoot.