I Forge Iron

Question Coating your metal after forging

ANGRYANVIL

Im typing this on the fly before i head of on a trip.  But i have been making stuff now more often thanks to request for my openers. One thing i failed to concider was a coating to apply to everything after i was done to protect them.  Im sure this is already posted but what have you guys been useing.  I was on youtube and saw some recipe for a solution made from beeswax, tupitine and some oil.  I thought about spraying a polyuathane on it but thought that would chip after a while.  I am still learning as I go and i learn after watching how stuff is done also trial and error kind of guy.

Thanks in advance.

David Sanders

I asked about this before (I don't know where the thread is now) and was given some helpful advice. (One member used Johnsons floor wax)

I always thought having a sticky with everyones different way to finish their projects (along with pics of the finished results) would be an awesome, easy refrence for newbies like me instead of searching hundreds of threads.

Anyone?

:rolleyes:

coatings range from solid gold to nothing depending on factors you have not provided.  I mainly use plain old paraffin wax others will season their pieces like you will season a skillet.  Hand forged Titanium doesn't require a coating, nor does monel or many of the stainlesses.  The toxicity of the coating is important for some uses and not for others. What works in an area with 7% humidity may not work for the same item on a hot and briny seashore.  One size does NOT fit all!

On exterior items I use straight linseed, sometimes applied with the metal cold, sometimes baked on. (An old Kevlar, heat resistant glove makes an excellent applicator when you are working with hot material. Peanut oil is also good.
I also use clear powder coat on exterior items.