I Forge Iron

Advice on how to thin a bush hog blade for a Kukri

norrin_radd

I came across an old bush hog blade similar to this:

41HaZ05CGzL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

The end of it is worn more to blunt point but its the basic same thing. I thought this would be good to make one or two big Kukri's out of, my first ones, but I think its a little too thick at a 1/2".

Im still a newb, so my dumb question is should I just heat it up and start beating on it with my regular 3lb forging hammer or should I use something like a flatter to try to get it to around 1/4" thick before I start to get the kukri shape that I want. I dont have a power hammer and have never used a flatter so I thought I would just see what the pros would suggest before I get started with this rather large piece of steel.

Might be easier to just make some big a' viking axes out of it, i dunno.

thanks for any advice.

Flatter is only for dressing the surface at the very end of forging.  I would suggest cutting off a strip sufficient to your needs and convincing some friends that it would be fun to use sledge hammers striking for you.  (Note using a whonking big chunk of steel rather than your anvil may be indicated if your strikers do not have much control---I would suggest having them always hit the same point on the "anvil" and you move the workpiece back and forth....)

Drawing out I's a basic skill. Wich can be done in many ways, efficiently in a few ways. This is what cross pein, strait pein and fullers are designed for. A bit more experienced smith may use the horn, off edge of the anvil or the edge of his hammer to acomplish the same thing. As Tommas points out, cutting a peice out to start with, then drowning it out with a fuller and a striker is one if the more effecient ways to do so.

Just want to point out that the standard issue Khukri  has a 3/8" spine. 1/4" would be fine but less hammering and more authenticity sounds like a win to me!

-Crazy Ivan