I Forge Iron

Should I purchase this anvil?

Hi, I'm new to blacksmithing and looking to buy my first anvil. I have a gentleman willing to sell it to me for $300. The edges look very rough. Not sure if it would need some repair, if that is acceptable. I have heard some say leave them be the way they are when they are that old. Any suggestions on who may have made this anvil (Boken or Wright) as well any further details like age? Thanks for any information you can provide. ~Viking

post-53677-0-09019900-1397679471_thumb.j

post-53677-0-69784000-1397679512_thumb.j

post-53677-0-74172100-1397679533_thumb.j

judging by the name on it it is a trenton, size and weight would be helpful, any numbers stamped on it?

if you put your rough location in your profile it will help people advise you, some areas are anvil poor so prices are higher, in other areas they are everywhere so prices are lower

At about $2 a pound with no swayback or face separation, just edge chipping, it is an OK deal. Perfect edges would drive the price on the open market above $3 a pound around here.

Try it for a year before doing anything drastic to it. Definitely do not mill the face, cleaning it with sandpaper should be enough. Edges can be rebuilt by welding much easier than missing chunks of face plate.

Yep.  Trenton was a great maker of anvils and something in the 140# range is absolutely perfect for a hobby smith.  The edges won't be a problem considering that you don't know diddly about forging and 99% of your learning projects won't be bothered by them.  Trust me, you're first hundred pieces won't leave you saying, "oh, this would have been a masterpiece if it wasn't for the chipped edges."