I Forge Iron

Hello my fellow metal workers,

First, I have found there are many people looking at getting into blacksmithing; but they either do not have the money for the tools, or they do not know how to make their own.

Second, I have found equally as many who do not want to spend a large amount of time and or money making a beginning anvil, only to replace it if they really get into the hobby.

Third, I have found even more people who are young and moving around, and simply do not think they can move blacksmithing supplies around, more specifically an anvil.

As an engineer, my goal is to solve problems. To me it seems there is an obvious problem, and such a problem raises a few engineering goals. My engineering goals are as follows:

1. Find a way to make an anvil for under $100

2. Find a way to make this anvil good enough that it will not need to be replaced by a new one, should the user really get into the hobby.

3. Find a way to make this anvil large and heavy enough to be comparable in performance to an elite large anvil.

4. Find a way to make this anvil portable enough that it can be easily moved around; while also retaining foundation stability.

With these engineering goals in mind, let's make one XXXXXXX anvil!

Please read the terms of service for IFI and please watch your language.  A link is at the lower right  corner of every page.

As you may have been able to tell from the title, my plan is to make this anvil from railroad track. However, I am gong to take the basic RR track anvil to a whole new level.

My plans are as follows:

- Cut 4 pieces of railroad track, each 75 cm in length (as an engineer I use metric units)

1: go to the scrapyard and buy a 100# piece of scrap steel. (At my scrap yard this will cost US$20)

2: get to work---it's an anvil that exceeds 2000 years of anvils used for everything from swords to ornate ironwork