I Forge Iron

Building a brick forge

NickG231

Being that i am somewhat new to blacksmithing and only 18 years old i do not have a wealth of knowledge on Building a forges, but i and dying to upgrade from my current small charcoal forge. I am wondering why i do not see more plans for Brick forges, as i have recently purchased a couple of tons of bricks to build myself a more permanent and higher quality forge. 

If anyone has plans for a simple brick forge i would love to see them. Keep in mind that i have never done any real masonry work, but i learn quite quickly. 

Im looking to build something similar to this,but with only one work station. 

post-39826-0-94469100-1392853949_thumb.j

Any help is appreciated

Thanks,

-Nick

being of limited experience myself i think that most people dont build brick forges like the one you have pictured because it is not moveable once it is built unless you feel like tearing it down it is a permanent structure in a persons shop and when a person aquires more equipment they have to work around the room left by the brick forge not being able to move the forge around to better arrange their shop. just my thoughts though.

Good Morning,

I woudn't build a fixed forge unles you are in a location where you will never move.

You should post your location so someone close to you can offer some guidance. "ASK TWICE, CUT ONCE"

You can build a coal forge that is way more portable than the Brick Forge. I would get some time forging under your belt before making a decision on a permanent fixture. You can use some of your bricks to make a propane forge.

Neil

Being that i am somewhat new to blacksmithing and only 18 years old i do not have a wealth of knowledge on Building a forges, but i and dying to upgrade from my current small charcoal forge. I am wondering why i do not see more plans for Brick forges, as i have recently purchased a couple of tons of bricks to build myself a more permanent and higher quality forge.