I Forge Iron

Challenger Disaster and me

njanvilman

28 years ago today, the Challenger Space Shuttle disaster happened.  It touched me particularly hard because I had been one of the applicants for the "Teacher in Space" program.  From my days in Elementary School watching the Gemini and Apollo liftoffs on a grainy black and white TV to the days of the shuttle, I was and still am a great supporter of all that NASA does.  I had been teaching for about 8 years at that point.  I went on to teach Woodworking and Metalworking for over 27 more years to thousands of students, and had a great influence that is still being felt today by many more people.

Richard Postman's book on Anvils obviously changed my life.  I saved the remnants of the Fisher(Crossley) factory before demolition.  I have assembled the most comprehensive collection of FISHER products to augment what I saved in the factory.   I have made many friends in this Blacksmithing community.  I married and raised two daughters that have made their mark in the world. 

I often wonder(like in "Its a Wonderful Life") what would have been if I had been on that flight.  But I was not, and I am here, alive, and enjoying retirement, anvil hunting, and most importantly, friends and family.

Joshua Kavett

njanvilman

I remember being in a thrift store looking at used tv's and wondering what the heck those two eratic white plumes were racing across a blue background and why so many people were watching it.......On a happier note I also remember getting up early in Sarasota FL to go fishing on the bay and seeing another plume darting skyward with a brite light at the top. I was looking all the way across the peninsula watching the shuttle rise with the sun, I don't need a picture to invision that again.......... B) .......Seems you chose a line of endeavor that includes many firmly earthbound objects, glad you're still around. mb