I Forge Iron

My second project, a hatchet from a rail spike!

Today I worked my tail off trying to figure out how to make a hatchet out of a railroad spike.  I am a GREEN novice at all this and wanted to share my finished product.  Monday I made a simple knife in my forge/foundry, but I was not satisfied with the amount of heat I was able to get.  I went to my land today and built a big fire in a fire barrel and used that to heat my spikes.  I am not sure if I did everything correctly but it looks right.  It is not perfectly straight or symmetrical, but that finesse will come with experience.  My original posting got deleted I am guessing because I linked to the  Third party links removed.

Check out my pictures!

Thanks for looking, Bradley

post-46213-0-95775000-1379547553_thumb.j

post-46213-0-42843300-1379547607_thumb.j

post-46213-0-23326700-1379547675_thumb.j

post-46213-0-02973600-1379547738_thumb.j

I am not one to critique as I am not even a novice.  It doesn't look too bad as far as aesthetics. As an idea should you decide to make another: Hammer out the spike end and keep the peg end. See where your artistry takes you then. Maybe heating the peg end and twisting it for looks? I don't know I'm merely just giving my opinion. As I said before I have never forged in my life and only giving my opinion.

For a 2nd project I'm impressed, especially if you did the eye solo!  These are fun to make, though more fun if you have a helper to hold it while you're slitting & drifting the eye.  I have a hold down, but it doesn't work as well as having someone hold it with tongs.  When I do them I keep the head of the spike, upset the spike end and lately I started forge welding a bit of old file onto that end so it will hold an edge better.  If you search on anvilfire you should find the steps that I follow.

This is a picture of the first spike hawk that I did.  My profile pic is of the first successful forge weld that I made.

post-34362-0-85970900-1380111618_thumb.j