I Forge Iron

DIY gas forge - heat problem

Alcibiades

Hi everyone! I'm new to the site and in need of some help.

I built the gas forge picture below. It's a paint can (never held paint) and the refractory material is sand and plaster of Paris 50/50 mix. I have a burner I built following the instructions on makingcustomknives.com. The burner works great, but I cannot get the steel yellow hot - only bright orange. I'm running the gas at about 12 psi, but i would prefer to be lower. What are some things I can do to improve my forges heat? I know that's a loaded question, but I would prefer not to buy Kaowool and itc-100, etc. I'm new to this and don't want to get financially overextended yet.
Is there a better forge design?
Would a door help?
Is the forge opening too large?
Is my refractory material no good?

Thanks in advance for the help!

post-43532-0-76885500-1372705925_thumb.j

post-43532-0-15891000-1372705935_thumb.j

post-43532-0-44258600-1372705947_thumb.j

n readin the tons of posts on this site about refractory materials I have never,  near as I remember, ever seen sand and plaster of  paris suggested as working materials. If you go to where3 yoiu got that information they may be able to help youi out and may be able to post refereences that would help.

Colors of steel are really dependant on ambient lighting. Some steels may look almost dull red in sunshine but in shade look forging heat. And in a dark room may appear at welding heat. I never suggest colors of steel. I prefer to see  how it moves under a hammer. And that of course can be related to lyou ability to move it from forge to anvil with no delay which loses heat. It also depends on wot the steel is and how large it is. If you have tool steel it is harder to forge. If you are working with small diameter it loses heat rapidly.