I Forge Iron

Tempering Coil Spring Punches

Howdy all,

I have recently starting making a number of tools for myself. Various punches, hand fullers, etc.. I have used old coil springs for the material. I believe I understand the steps involved in heat treating, however I have never done it before, and I do have one question.

I am planning on heating to non magnetic, then quenching in 3 gallons of veggie oil (in a metal container with a metal lid). I'll use some files to test it. I'm assuming I want to temper it to a purple or bronze color on the business end of the tool. So here is my question.. What is the best way to apply heat for tempering? I have read about the one heat method, where you quench only the tool end, and then use the heat from the rest to run the colors down. I might try that, but am not sure it is the best method to start with. If I want to quench it entirely, then apply heat again, should I hold the butt end into the coals? Should I heat some tongs up and hold it with hot hot tongs? Should I heat a pile of sand and stick the butt end into the hot sand?

Also, is it OK that the butt end isn't hard? Won't it mushroom more? Could the tool bend from hitting it too hard if the back end isn't hardened to some degree?

I'm sure experience will be the best teacher for me, but I thought I would solicit some wonderful advice here.

Thanks all!

I'm a noob to forging but I've seen a demonstration on heat treating. What I'd do is heat just the business end to non-magnetic (or however you judge the heat) and quench it. Then heat the piece from the middle (or the other end if it's short) to run the colors. The tip should just turn the color you want. Do it slowly or you may have to do it again. :)

Good Luck!